Home > Businessexy, Othersexy > Pepsi does WHAT??!!

Pepsi does WHAT??!!

“Guess what? Pepsi’s going to stop making ads!” My husband exclaimed as he entered the room to wake me up for the morning rush.

Since my mind was still in typhoon-relief-operations mode, my answer was: “Why? So they can donate all that money to flood victims?”

I thought I was still half-asleep and dreaming and I thought he was being sarcastic–until I checked out THIS ARTICLE:

Click on the image to view the article

Click on the image to view the article

Huwhat??!

But I like Pepsi ads!

I might not like their drink–except for Pepsi Boom (Europe’s version of Pepsi Max), which I had encountered and enjoyed very much in Italy–but I like their ads.

To me, the Pepsi branding = cool, hip, and funky; Coke = family, friends, feel-good old-fashioned values.

In the article which you have yet to read, PepsiCo CEO Indra K. Nooyi was quoted as saying: “You can’t taste an ad, anyway… People are going to make up their own minds regardless of whether we spend millions trying to inform them that Taylor Swift drinks Pepsi. I mean, seriously, does it really matter if Taylor Swift drinks Pepsi? She’s just a human being like everybody else.”

This is a brave, bold move that Pepsi is making–an assertion that its brand will remain strong and in demand in spite of zero advertising. This could also signal a new direction in brand communications and corporate imaging–one that might leave more money for corporate do-gooding.

🙂

  1. Chris
    October 1, 2009 at 12:03 am

    LOL – that’s another classic from The Onion.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

